[Coldbox 5.x] - ORM and property statements in my model

I am new to using the coldbox ORM module (cborm) and trying to figure out if there is an alternate way to pull in data from a lookup table using the property syntax.

If you see the 2nd property statement, I am using the formula attribute to query the db table to get the text friendly version of the field “employment_type”. This does work, but I’m wondering is there another way to do this so I don’t have SQL inline like this.

property name="employmentTypeId" column="employment_type_id"; property name="employmentType" formula = "select e.employment_type from employment_type e where e.employment_type_id = employment_type_id";

Any help appreciated.

Based on what I see below, you should be configuring the “employment type” as a many-to-one relationship, rather than hard-coding foreign keys as simple value properties:

property name=“employmentType”

fieldtype=“many-to-one”

cfc=“EmploymentType”

fkcolumn=“employment_type_id” // this references the fieldtype=”id” of the EmploymentType entity

fetch=“join”; // fetch=”join” makes it instantly available

The above replaces your two property declarations. Then you would retrieve your type with getEmploymentType().getId() or getEmploymentType().getName(), etc after the entity is retrieved.

Jon

Thanks for the reply Jon,

This makes sense, however it does mean that I would need to create a new CFC for each lookup for lack of a better word. In my example I include just one field, but I also have the state_code, state_name scenario, where I may want to retrieve the text name of the state based on the state_code (e.g. TX for Texas, or if I was using a numeric ID for state_code and then wanting to grab the text value. I’d have to create a State.cfc and follow what you did in your example. Given that I have quite a few lookup tables where I need to do this it seems that I will end up with tons of CFCs just to get this one value if that makes sense.