newbie question about session storage

I am new to ColdBox and was following along by going through the docs in a sequential manner.
I came across this https://coldbox.ortusbooks.com/digging-deeper/recipes/building-a-simple-basic-http-authentication-interceptor#security-service example and ran into quite a few issues.

It took me a bit of searching to learn that this below is no longer the correct way to inject a sessionstorage:

property name=“sessionStorage” inject=“coldbox:plugin:SessionStorage”;

some searching here in this group, I found that the v4+ way is to use:

property name=“sessionStorage” inject=“provider:sessionStorage@cbstorages”;

However, this did not immediately make the example in the docs work.
The if statement below was throwing an error that the return value was not of type boolean

function isLoggedIn(){
if( sessionStorage.get(“userAuthorized”,“false”) ){
return true;
}
return false;
}

through some debugging , i discovered that the property was a provider and not the actual SS and to get to the SS,
I had alter the function to read as follows:

/**

• isloggedIn
    */
    function isloggedIn(){
    var sessionStorage = SessionStorageProvider.get();

if (SessionStorage.get(“authenticated”, false)){
return true
}
return false;
}

learned through mostly trial and error that I had to first call the get() method on the provider to get to the object specified in the property.

It took me a bit of searching to learn that this below is no longer the correct way to inject a sessionstorage:

Wow, looks like that page got overlooked in our docs and never updated. Also, it seems you’re one of the first people to notice it (and let us know).

I learned through mostly trial and error that I had to first call the get() method on the provider to get to the object specified in the property.