Problems adding jSoup to ColdBox 4.3 with Lucee 4.5.5.

Hello, in the past I would just drop the jSoup jar into ACF and get started with “myJsoup = createObject(“java”, “org.jsoup.Jsoup”);.” No problem. But now I’d like to do things the “ColdBox way” and am having problems!

First let me say that I am new to ColdBox and this way of doing things. I apologize in advance for what are likely to be very basic questions.

Next, do I need javaloader? The docs for ColdBox 4 say all I need to do is drop jars into /lib and I am good to go. Is this right? Because I tried that, reinited, and got started as above and got an error from Lucee,

cannot load class through its string name, because no definition for the class with the specified name [org.jsoup.Jsoup] could be found

Which to me suggests that Lucee or my app doesn’t know about jSoup, but I am not sure. I read that adding the path to the jSoup jar to createObject resolved the issue for some people – I tried that and got the same error.

What else do I need to do to get jSoup set up for my project? I would really appreciate any tips or pointers. Thanks a lot!

You’ll need to restart tomcat after adding the jars - reiniting won’t be enough. If you can get the jar loaded using createObject, then you can move onto doing it the “coldbox” way, but if it’s not working via createObject it’s because the jars aren’t in the classpath.

Tom.

Thanks Tom! I appreciate the help!

Tom is right. You need to restart Tomcat.

If you like to load the library it in ColdBox way, you need to install ForgeBox: JavaLoader
And then create /lib folder in your application site. Drop the jsoup.jar in /lib folder.

// Load the JavaLoader module
property name=“javaloader” inject=“loader@cbjavaloader”;

// Instantiate Jsoup
jsoup = javaLoader.create(“org.jsoup.Jsoup”);

Or, you can use wirebox which is my preferred method:

in WireBox.cfc:

map(“jSoup”).toDSL(“java:org.jsoup.Jsoup”);

in yourServiceModel.cfc: