Stuck on a form/wirebox problem?

Hey all,

This is my first attempt to write something since the class with Luis, BTW the class is excellent if you’re on the fence about going.

So,

I have a simple form that is collecting name, email, phone number and comments from the user.

I have my model which has:

insert into contacts (name, email, phone, comments, contactdate) values ('#[rc.name#](http://rc.name#)', '#rc.email#', '#rc.phone#', '#rc.comments#', '#DateFormat(now(),'yyyy-mm-dd')# #TimeFormat(now(),'hh:mm:ss')#')

I have my handler:

component{
property name=“contact” inject=“id”;

function index(event,rc,prc){
//$dump(rc,true);
event.setView(“savecontact/index”);
contact.PutContacts();
event.setNextEvent(“general.index”);
}
}

When I run this code I get an error that: Element NAME is undefined in RC.

I thought that the rc would persist and I should have access to the variables to proceed.

I know its something simple here that I am missing. I’m just glad that I retained most of this from class.

Thanks in advance.

-Mallory

The problem is not persistence, but passing it on. When you call anything in like a model the RC is not available and needs to be passed in.

You could do other ways, but I prefer to pass the entire thing through.

contact.PutContacts(rc);
}

You could if you wanted too, inject the controller into the model and use the getCollection() to then get the RC, but I think passing it in is far better and easier to use and maintain.

Now if you look at your model, you will see that you have the required as arguments, these only exist for handlers and nothing more, so because you are not passing them in is the reason they do not exist.

Also It is not an issue, but you should set views at the end of the handler, now they are not processed until the function is finished, but from a readability point of view and flow of the function its makes better sense.

Hi Andrew,

Thanks for the reply.