Can I just make commandbox "aware" of my existing ColdFusion server?

Hi everyone,
I’ve been a cf dev since 1999, and I had heard of Coldbox, but never knew much about it and companies I worked for weren’t using it. I have recently started researching it and I can’t believe I haven’t been demanding it, lol. Anyway, I really want to get a site set up on our dev server and show my coworkers and boss all these cool things and modules, but I’m really struggling with everything because it always seems like my needs are slightly different than the doc examples.
Right now I’m trying to find out if I can make commandbox aware of the cf server that is already started and running on port 8500 of my server. My server is at d:\coldfusion2023\cfusion, and all the app code lives at d:\webcode. I installed a testapp at d:\webcode\testapp, and I have the server.json file as follows:
{
“name”:“webserver”,
“serverList”:“http://localhost:8500”,
“web”:{
“rewrites”:{
“enable”:“true”
}
},
“webroot”:“d:\webcode”
}
I had asked chatgpt how to do this, and it told me to create those settings and then start server webserver, but when I do that, it creates a new war file and starts a lucee engine. I have read every doc and every search result on this that I can get my hands on, and I have watched the entire cfcast for zero to hero commandbox, but I just cannot find the answer. Is this possible? It seems like commandbox is used by folks to manage their servers, so I feel like this has to be possible and I’m just missing something silly.
Thank you in advance for any help.