[Coldbox 4] utility.cfc

Hello,

Where would I place a utility.cfc with various methods inside of it?

Would the convention naming be utility.cfc or utilities.cfc?

Is it even good practice to have a utility cfc, anymore?

Thank you,
Ryan Hinton

There’s no convention for that. You can just stick it in your /models directory (which is the convention for CFCs) and then wire it in wherever you need it like so:

component {
property name=“utility” inject=“utility”;

function foo() {
utility.doSomething();
}

}

Thanks!

~Brad

ColdBox Platform Evangelist
Ortus Solutions, Corp

E-mail: brad@coldbox.org
ColdBox Platform: http://www.coldbox.org
Blog: http://www.codersrevolution.com

Excellent! I just want to make sure I do everything according to what you guys recommend.

Thank you, Brad!

Hi Brad,

I’m new to using the injection and Wirebox.

I have an api module created and placed the utillity.cfc within the modules.api.models folder.
I am certain that I don’t have something configured correctly in order to get utility.cfc injected into my api.properly.

I’m reading through the wirebox refcard and I don’t see anything about how to set up a cfc with wirebox located in a module.
I don’t think I should be using the config/wirebox.cfc to have it point to the utility in the api module because then the module is dependent on a configuration outside of the the module.
I noticed a couple of minor references about wirebox within the api moduleConfig.cfc and I am thinking that it would need to be set up there somehow, but not quite sure of the syntax to use.
Would I create a WireBox configuation structure DSL within the api moduleConfig configure() method?

Thank you for your time!
Ryan Hinton

Sub folders don’t get scanned by default aka non recursive, you may need to look into MapDirectory() to achieve what you’re looking for.

Thank you, Andrew.