I have been asked to compile a list of major points as to why we
should use coldbox over drupal for re-architecting the back-end of one
of my firm's major applications. since I am relatively new to coldbox
- loving every minute i use it - I wanted to reach out to my fellow
cfml code monkeys. what are your thoughts, can you help me compile a
solid argument? thank you for all of your help, and I hope everyone
is having a great week.

chris

I think the question should be MuraCMS/FarCry/etc. vs. Drupal.

ColdBox is not a CMS.

Chris,

You should consider what your technology strengths are. If your team
is just as proficient with ColdFusion as it is with PHP, then you
could go either way. If your team is stronger in one area than
another, go that way. On a feature-to-feature comparison, check out
the getmura.com site for information. I am in an environment where
Drupal is being forced down our throats by non-technical decision
makers, so this is something that I am dealing with too. Personally,
if you don't use PHP currently and don't want to learn it, don't use
Drupal.

Reuben

Agreed with Oğuz, Coldbox is an MVC framework. The rough PHP
equivalent would be Cake. Drupal (and Joomla) is a content management
system and would compete with Mura and FarCry.

What does your site need to do? I think that if you take a look at it
from a functional perspective (we need to do X, Y and Z) then you can
find the pros and cons of different approaches more easily. Do you
primarily need a CMS? Do you have a lot of custom needs that don't fit
with standardized modules? Are there a lot of back end business
processes?

Cheers,
Judah

Drupal is an excellent framework for quickly building apps. Main issues I have with it are architectural. If you want to build fairly simple apps and there is a good fit between the features you need and the Drupal plugins, if you have experience maintaining and hosting PHP code it's hard to beat.