CommandBox and Port 80 and Port 443

Hi, I am a 20+ year CFML developer and I’d like to use CommandBox as an Ubuntu service to host a public web server for my site. I am trying to set up CommandBox for the first time, but am getting the errors around Port 80 and Port 443 being unavailable, since we’re not running CommandBox with a root user.

I have seen a few answers online to this, and none of them seem to make sense to me. Some of them, frankly, seem ludicrous:

1. Just run as a root user
    Well, this goes against every security principle I’ve ever learned. Why do we feel this is acceptable when everything I see everywhere on the internet strongly recommends against it?

2. Put in an Apache or Nginx reverse proxy
    So, isn’t the whole point of CommandBox, here, to avoid having to deal with the unbelievably painstaking, insanely and extraordinarily frustrating hassle of doing a reverse proxy?

3. Use iptables or authbind
    This seems really hacky and full of risk, too.

I’ve looked into why Apache and Nginx, which, you know, also don’t run as root users, are able to bind to these ports. Apparently they start up in root and then lower their privileges after they bind the ports. Is this not possible in CommandBox?

I honestly have read just about everything I can find on Google related to CommandBox, Lucee, Port 80 and so on. I’m not seeing answers here. Perhaps this thread can help me and the rest of the world understand more about this issue?

I don’t know of any other ways to do it. The limitation of non-root users not being able to bind to ports below 1024 is hard-code into Unix systems. I’m not sure how CommandBox would bind as a root user and then lower permissions from Java, but I’m open to suggestions on what that would look like.

It doesn’t seem that hacky and I’m not aware of any risk right off. Can you enlighten me? I’ve always regarded this as the “right” answer if you don’t want to run as root, which is understandable.

2 Likes