How do you deploy to a shared server such as Hostek

Hello, all. I am new to Coldbox and was looking at it for a possible project. I downloaded CommandBox and put it on my c: drive in the root. C:\commandbox. Ran box, installed coldbox-cli, etc. and followed the tutorial here (which needs a correction or two). I was doing from a folder here: V:\Documents\CFSites\RestoModTracker\DeltaCMS. It works fine on my PC.

So I wanted to see how it would work in my Hostek hosted environment. I looked for information on how to deploy to a hosted environment and was surprised that, with all this documentation, there is no specific deployment process. So I just pushed the the above folder to the server http root.

I get an error:

Security: The requested template has been denied access to D:/home/cardinalhs.net/wwwroot/coldbox/system/web/context/ExceptionBean.cfc.

The following is the internal exception message: access denied (“java.io.FilePermission” “D:/home/cardinalhs.net/wwwroot/coldbox/system/web/context/ExceptionBean.cfc” “read”)

I am asking the what version of Java they are running but this seems to be a different issue.

Is there a reason there is no documentation, no video, not much of anything on how to deploy an app to a shared hosting environment that already has CF running on it? Thanks.

I would reach out to your server host and ask them to look into the permissions.

Thank for the quick response. So is this how you deploy? You just copy the whole folder to the server? I will reach out to them and see about permissions.