How to setup a format-test workflow?

I want to setup a workflow that will watch for file changes and then 1) format the changed files using cfformat and then after that completes 2) run tests for the project from the CLI. Ideally I’d be able to use the testbox command interactively still to select which tests to run.

This is a pretty normal workflow, but I haven’t been able to find examples of how to do that.

I already have the tests running from the CLI using box testbox watch ..., but I haven’t been able to get box cfformat watch ... working. I can run it manually as box cfformat run ... in a separate terminal window, but then my tests run twice, once on save, and then once on manual format.

Does anyone have an example of a workflow like this successfully setup? I tried creating a box.json script with the watch command, but I couldn’t get it working.

Seth, while I have no specific experience with that, can you clarify first what happens when you try it? You say you can’t get it working as a box command. Does it fail, with an error? Does it just fail to do what you expect?

Second, I notice that the docs for that cfformat forgebox module indicate:

If your watch command seems slow, unresponsive, or is failing to notice some file change events, it is likely that you have it watching too many files.

Could that be the issue? If so, it also offers suggestions. If it’s NOT the issue, I look forward to your reply on my first questions above.

Or perhaps others here will have a more direct and clear answer for you.

1 Like

Charlie,

Thank you, I wasn’t especially clear about that. The docs show this example for the CLI

Since escaping meta characters can get tricky with nested strings, you can declare the command as an environment variable and then just reference it like so:

set command = "echo 'You added \${item}!'"
watch command="foreach '\${watcher_added}' \${command}" --verbose