How to use DI (Wirebox) in Unit Test

Hello Guys.

I am new to coldbox and I’m trying to test my SERVICES for unit Testing. Is there any way that I could mock wirebox. Correct me if I use wrong method.

User Model

component accessors="true"{

// Properties
	property name="id" type="string";
	property name="firstname" type="string";
	property name="lastname" type="string";
	property name="email" type="string";

user function init(){
		return this;
	}

–USER SERVICE—

property name="wirebox" 			inject="wirebox";
property name="populator" 			inject="wirebox:populator";
User function new(){
		return wirebox.getInstance("user");
	}
function getAll(){
	> users = queryExecute("SELECT * FROM users",{},
		{returnType="array"}).map(function(user){
		return populator.populateFromStruct(new(),user);
	});
}

For my USERSERVICETEST

describe( "User Suite", function(){

it("Can view all users ", function(){

var user = createEmptyMock("models.user");

var qry = querySim("id,firstname,lastname,email
 				1 | luis | majano| test@gmail.com
 				2 | joe | louis |test1@gmail.com
 				3 | bob | lainez| test2@gmail.com");

user.$("getAll",qry);

var data = model.getAll();

expect(data).toBe(qry);

});

});

When I run this test my injected dependency such as wirebox populator and function new doesn’t exist. my user.$(“getAll”,qry); doesn’t an array of objects.

Hello, Fuzzy!

There are two issues here, and I’m going to answer the easy one first:

Autowiring Test Models via Wirebox

You don’t need to mock Wirebox - in this case, you’d much prefer that Wirebox “do its thing” and inject the necessary services so you can test your actual, running code.

Try to “autowire”, or “inject stuff” into your test object (the model under test) to simulate a normal, running application:

getWirebox().autowire( model )

Mocking Too Many Things

Personally, I think your test is trying to mock too many things. This creates several problems: