Image storage and info tags

Hi,

I’m new to Contentbox and I’m trying to figure out that best way to manage images and documents?

I have 100’s of images and documents I’d like to upload, but I’d like to add some meta data (i.e. alt, title, caption, description) and images in multiple sizes. I though i’d create a page for each image/document and reference them as related content in other pages. I beginning to find this may not be the best way to approach this. Can someone advise how best to achieve this?

Is there a ‘common size’ image setting (e.g large, medium, small, thumbnail, custom) that would resize an image when uploaded to those sizes?
I’ve created custom fields to a parent page, when I set the child page to inherit the custom fields are not inherited.

I would appreciate if someone can share how they are managing their images and how they are adding alt, caption, description tags etc.

thank you

I think creating a page for each image is on the right track, but I’d use the content store which is more intended for ad-hoc pieces of content. Note, pages have a URL route by default with their slug, but content store items are not automatically accessible unless they are include into other pages or blog entries.

What you’re describing sounds like an interesting idea of a module. Make it basically be a wrapper for the media manager that does the resizes for you and stores all the metadata (paths to each image size and descriptions, etc) in the content store. You could then register a widget in your module that would be used to render out an image and could have arguments or logic to output the correct size and descriptions, etc.

Thanks!

~Brad

ColdBox/CommandBox Developer Advocate
Ortus Solutions, Corp

E-mail: brad@coldbox.org
ColdBox Platform: http://www.coldbox.org
Blog: http://www.codersrevolution.com

Hi Brad,