Rambling ColdBox Noob Questions I'm Embarrased to Ask

I’ve been coding CFML ‘the old way’ for 20+ years. The traditional CF install running behind IIS (usually). Distributed models, load balancing, blah blah…

Never touched frameworks such as ColdBox but it recently caught my eye and I’ve blazed through the ColdBox Master Class video series. My eyes have been opened! Very exciting stuff, couldn’t wait to get started!

However, one thing has escaped me. As I’ve watched, and read, about ColdBox and CommandBox I was getting the impression that CommandBox was mostly used as a development and configuration tool. Use it to spin up a CFML server with configs on a local machine in order to develop a ColdBox app. Where it seems I was way off was: I was thinking that once the CB app was developed, its entire folder could simply be moved on to a production server running a ‘normal’ version of ACF (provided datasources and other server settings were set).

However, it appears that is not the case as there are several errors that arise. In addition, as I look through these community posts and see other’s questions regarding running ColdBox on IIS, Apache, etc… I see a lot of responses saying things like “why don’t you just use CommandBox”?

My long-winded question is: is the CommandBox-ColdBox duo meant to completely do away with the traditional ColdFusion install…even in production and high traffic scenarios? Can a ColdBox App/Website run on the same web server as legacy apps that are not using ColdBox. The CommandBox docs show a big blank space for using with IIS.

I don’t have the luxury of being able to throw away everything I’ve worked with previously and start anew. What’s the best path forward as a hybrid ‘traditional’ / ColdBox shop?