Review My Unit Test / MockBox

Hello Guys,

I’m very new to unit testing and mocking. I wanted to run my code past you and get some feedback, on what I could do better, what I’m doing horrible wrong and so forth.

I’m going to use this simple security service use case: http://pastebin.com/NSk7aWz1

I’ve got the following test written for it: http://pastebin.com/Gv4HehkL

I really appreciate anyone taking the time to look at those for me.

The tests appear to work just fine, there may just be better/cleaner ways of doing things.

Thanks,

Robert

Looks very good to me, however I only have one piece of advice.

Try to get into the habit of writing your tests first, and although this is not a hard fast rule. But it is something that I tend to do, and I find it means I can get better code coverage because of it.

I tend to keep everything related to a method / API in one test method, this is because in the one test you can check for a successful login and a successful logout, as with your example. This might not become apparent if you don’t use the Eclipse mxUnit views, where you can run one test only, while developing and if you change one thing in trying to fix your first method test, you may break the other and you are potentially wasting time. Going back and forth on these two tests all the time.

Being able to just run the one test while developing, also saves a lot more time as well. Not only because you are only running the one test, but you are not waiting 10-30mins later for the entire test suite to run. But the bonus of keeping all the logic in one test, for success and failure means you aren’t wasting more time by going and running test when you don’t need too.

Otherwise, it is very clean and right on the money.

Regards,

Andrew Scott

http://www.andyscott.id.au/

HI Andrew,

Thanks for the feedback, I really appreciate it.