How do I create a custom Home page where the blog is not the default.

I’m fairly new at content box so I may be missing something simple, but I need to be able to use a custom homepage with its own layout so I can include image carousels and other components not currently available within content box. I don’t want the blog to be the primary entry point. I see how i can create a CMS page and force it to be the homepage of the site, and I currently have my setup running this way, but using this method does not allow me to add anything except for what can be added through the html editor as widgets. I tried to use the relocate widget to a custom homepage but threw an error because the cb variable was not available.

From what I can tell, the only way to do this is to create a custom page that uses a different layout and the create widgets for the homepage components that I’d like to use. Is this correct?

Currently ContentBox doesn’t support this, I have raised a ticket for this feature and will just have to wait.

But for now the only way is to use the Page content to create the page, and then make that page the default.

You can create an interceptor to do this now, to intercept this, but there is a bug in ColdBox that needs attention to when preProcess calls the event.Override() because it will not be called the current way ColdBox works. Again I have brought that to the attention of Luis, because it opens up other problems with code as well.

We do this with the ContentBox site so I don’t know why you say we cannot do it already. We have a home layout for it and it is completely different. Also it is a page and not the blog.

Am I missing something

Luis Majano
CEO
Ortus Solutions, Corp
Toll Free/Fax: 1-888-557-8057
Direct: 909-248-3408
www.ortussolutions.com
Twitter: @lmajano, @ortussolutions

Yes you’re missing the problem Luis…